The Magic Scrap

This was a great idea that I saw when looking for substitute teacher tools. This comes from Hannah Braun at The Classroom Key.

I used this the other day and cannot figure out why I never thought of this before. This is a transition for cleaning up the room. When subbing with a fifth grade class, the students somehow managed to add a hundred scraps to the floor! I was amazed at how they did that in a few moments. I was upset and worried how this would look when the teacher came back. So I used this transition tool to help me out.

The Magic Scrap is very simple.

  1. Tell the students that there is a special scrap on the floor. It is a magic scrap. Whoever finds it will receive a reward.
  2. Have the students collect every scrap off the floor. If it is not the scrap then you need to place it in the trash.
  3. The students will grab all the trash around the room.
  4. Once all of the scraps are collected, pick a student who has found “the magic scrap”. There really is no magic scrap. Pick a student who might need a pick me up that day and reward them.

Very simple! Great way to ensure that students keep their room clean and give a student some needed encouragement.

Enjoy your teaching.

Leave a comment